Here it is - The last installment of the Scariest Books at Messenger Library, just in time for Halloween! All of these titles are available either as eBooks in the eMediaLibrary or as print books. The list is based on a List Challenge we made in 2013 of the 50 Scariest Books of All Time. Read More
Scariest Books at MPL - Part 4 Covers

The Youth Services Department will be closed for carpet installation on Wednesday, October 29, 2014. Patrons will not be able to enter the department. A selection of items will be available to browse and check out, and library staff can pull specific items upon request. Library users are encouraged to place holds using our online catalog. The rest of the Library will remain open and programs will continue as scheduled. The Youth Services Department will reopen to the public on Thursday, October 30. Read More

Here's Round Three of the Scariest Books at Messenger Library. All of these titles are available either as eBooks in the eMediaLibrary or as print books. The list is based on a List Challenge we made in 2013 of the 50 Scariest Books of All Time. Read More
Scariest Books at MPL Set 3 Covers

Ready for Round Two of the Scariest Books at Messenger Public Library?All of these titles are available either as eBooks in the eMediaLibrary or as print books. The list is based on a List Challenge we made in 2013 of the 50 Scariest Books of All Time. Read More
Scariest Books at MPL - Covers 11-20

Once again, Messenger Public Library is an Early Voting site for the November 4th election. Early Voting will take place in our conference room. Click "read more" to see the dates and times, and for more information. Read More
Image "Vote" by Theresa Thompson

Tags: News, fp, community


The October Reading Challenge chain is at 63 links today, and we would love for you to help us make it grow! Drop by the Youth Services desk for the chain link in the color for the category of the book you have read, write the title on it, hand the slip in, and we will add to the paper chain that is hanging above our entrance. We want any library book you’ve read in October from the following: Picture Books, Easy Readers, Juvenile Fiction/Series, Juvenile Nonfiction, Teen Fiction/YA, Teen Nonfiction, and Audiobooks from those categories as well. Read More
October Book Challenge Chain

As you may have seen in our parking lot recently, AT&T has been doing work at Messenger Public Library. They are upgrading our internet to fiber optic network service. This means faster internet and continued tech support in the long run, as our old T1 lines are being phased out of service over the next few years. The T1 line provides access for our online catalog, checkout system, databases and more, so the transition will interrupt library services for brief periods in October. Read More
Image "The Internet Runs on this Stuff" by Lacrymosa, on Flickr

Halloween is just around the corner, and heralding the season is the beginning of the latest installment of American Horror Story. This year, AHS is taking us into the realm of a freak show in the 1950s that has settled in Jupiter, Florida. Whether you're waiting for AHS:FS to come out on DVD to watch it, or you're already eagerly waiting for the next episode to air, we've got several novels that explore the world of carnivals, circuses, and freak shows. They may not all be scary, though - at least, no scarier than circuses and carnivals already are. Read More
Read-alikes for American Horror Story: Freak Show

The Village of North Aurora is holding a Comprehensive Plan Workshop on Wednesday, October 29 at 7 PM. The meeting will be held in the North Aurora Police Community Room, at 200 S. Lincolnway. It will be open to the public, and North Aurora community members are encouraged to attend and provide feedback. You don't need to make a reservation - just show up and participate in helping provide input and ideas for our future plan. Read More
Village of North Aurora Logo

Last year, we made a List Challenge based on Flavorwire's list of the 50 Scariest Books of All Time in the spirit of spooky reading for Halloween. This year, we're highlighting these titles in our ebook collection in eMediaLibrary throughout the month of October. Read the full article for more information about the first ten titles in the list! Read More
1-10 of the 50 Scariest Books at MPL

Pages



Online Resources

Axis 360 digital books eMedia Library digital books Zinio  digital magazines OneClick DigitalNoveList Plus